Sir Alex Ferguson enjoyed a sensational managerial career at Manchester United before he retired nine years ago. The Scotsman won a lot of major honours with the Red Devils during his time in their dugout. Sir Alex Ferguson signed off as the Manchester United manager in the perfect way possible after he led them to the Premier League title. The Red Devils won the Premier League title in the final season of Sir Alex Ferguson as manager. Since then, they have failed to hit the heights reached during the Ferguson managerial era at the club.

Manchester United have appointed four permanent managers since the exit of Sir Alex Ferguson and they have been unable to win a single league title. The last league title came in the 2012/13 season when Ferguson was the manager. As a matter of fact, Manchester United have not won any major trophy in five years. They made their fifth permanent managerial appointment on the back of the Ferguson era this summer with the arrival of Dutchman Erik Ten Hag. If he manages not to win a major trophyin his debut season at Old Trafford, it would make it six years without a single major trophy for the club.

Since the exit of Sir Alex Ferguson, Manchester United have finished second spot on two occasions. The first time was under Jose Mourinho during the 2017/18 season and under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer during the 2020/21 season. Mourinho won three trophies including the Community Shield during his time at Manchester United, while Dutchman Louis Van Gaal won the FA Cup during his time at the club.

The points return for the Premier League teams shows how Manchester United have fared badly in the post-Ferguson era. They are sixth on the Premier League table considering the points won after his exit as compiled by the Daily Star. Manchester United have 626 points and they are 158 points off Manchester City at the top.